2005-12-18

Christmas, Part Deux

It's dark and I'm sitting in a lovely kitchen typing on a laptop more than 300 kms from my home. I'm tired, partied out and contemplating the long drive home again before heading out with yet another basket of baked goodies and cards and gifts to another function this afternoon. It'll be great once I get there I'm certain but at this moment, here, surrounded by cats, sipping organic grapefruit juice and updating while the rest of the house slumbers, I think I just want to stay put.

Here's the second part of that Christmas meme I started the other day. I must say, I've gotten some interesting emails from people who were surprised, amused and in some cases shocked at a few of my answers. After all these years I'm still a bit of an enigma; I love that.



Best Scrooge Ever: Alistair Sim, because he�s the best and I�m a traditionalist.

Favorite Christmas Special: I�m not a fan of the Christmas Special.

Favorite Misfit Toy: You should not have to be reminded that King Moonracer is the wise and benevolent ruler of the Island of Misfit Toys and should therefore also be your favorite.

Have you ever re-gifted? No, I find it�s easier to work up a good rage over an ex-friend if their thoughtless (and sometimes already regifted) gift is still in my possession.

Do you still rush out and shop on the 24th? Only if it�s something for The Boy that I have no way of hiding otherwise. I find in my advanced age that it's easier on your nerves to plod along and do what you can, then at some point (usually around now) you just have to hold up your hands and say, "Stop. I'm done. Anything that hasn't gotten done by now shall remain undone and you're just going to have to find a way to love me regardless."

Can you wrap presents well? Well, yes, but I�d rather use festive bags and colourful tissue paper that can be reused. My sister does not agree, as she finds festive bags more difficult to rend to shreds while looking for the gift inside.

What's one thing you know will always be in your Christmas stocking?
Ferrero Rocher or a reasonable facsimile (President�s Choice).

Best Christmas present ever?
Getting to be a Mom for 11 weeks last year.

Spill a holiday secret:
God, we�re boring: I got nothin'.

Started on your Christmas Cards yet?
The card exchange cards are done and dusted. Family cards and the ones I keep on hand in case I get cards from unexpected people I only picked up last night, as they are masterpieces of my own making this year. Go me!

Do you bake Christmas cookies?
Five years ago I began participating in an annual Cookie Exchange at work. It was such a joy to only have to buy ingredients for and fiddle with one type of cookie, only to have your hard work rewarded with receipt of seven dozen different types of morsels. And don't forget, some people (like myself) get really wrapped up in how they're going to present said cookies so you usually wind up with interesting and varied serving dishes and vessels to use for years to come. I highly recommend starting an exchange if you can manage it.

You find yourself under the mistletoe with Pratt. What do you do?
Why, pet his bunny of course.

Do you leave cookies out for Santa?
Seriously?

Can I refill your egg nog?
You can get me another Guinness is what you can do.

Posted at 7:15 a.m.