2003-12-20

Tips & Tastes
I have always believed the trick to giving gifts is to give something you yourself would have liked to receive. And as usual, there�s always the exception that proves the rule.

This year, that exception came in the form of a dvd box set.

I spent the lion�s share of yesterday at work searching for the box set of Seasons One and Two of Trailer Park Boys. This is a show I�ve watched a few times, mostly so I could try to understand just what it is that makes some people (like my SIL) love it so much. I�ve yet to see the allure, if I�m honest. However, it�s not going to stop me from going to the ends of the earth to purchase it. Well, okay, the ends of the city limits, but still. I suspect others have bought me some dvds for Christmas that left them shaking their heads at the cash register.

My niece Kate will rip open a copy of the 30th Anniversary Edition of School House Rock! And hopefully she�ll learn to love it. I plan on popping it in with her Mom beside me; she might get the hang of it if she sees how much we enjoy the little ditties. And the added bonus of me giving her something educational makes me so glad, as I�m sick to death of the truckloads of Barbies and Groovy Girls crap she�s gotten so far. She already has 15 Barbies, people! Please, let�s end the madness!

My once yearly tip for the Glam Squad at the local salon will once again consist of music and baked goods. Lest you think I�m being a cheapskate and how could I possibly give enough to cover a year�s worth of tips, let me tell you right now you would be wrong. Denise and Manuela look forward to the goodies more than you know. Whenever I have an appointment in December, I walk in and see bottle after bottle lined up along the baseboard, looking festive and twinkly in their gauzy gift bags. I�ll admit I enjoy anything in multiples, but it takes about two seconds of thought to drop into the liquor store on the way to a nail appointment, and they tell me conspiratorially that they know this. That�s why they love the fact that I�ve obviously spent months creating a mix cd that will spin at the shop well into the New Year. Not to mention the goodies, of which there is an assortment that makes both their eyes widen immeasurably. They don�t even take the box home, choosing instead to hide it at their stations. Each day brings another opportunity (or two or three) to pick a new treat and for that, they are truly appreciative. I know money is a rather traditional show of gratitude but chocolate wins by a long shot with my team members.

Posted at 10:05 a.m.