2006-01-03

The Pre-Plan

Today was supposed to be the day I began giving some serious thought to The Plan. The Plan was going to be insightful and creative and positive and The Plan would cause all who read it to stop and consider She Who Thought Up The Plan as some sort of genius. It was going to astound people like my Mother, who up to now has probably done quite a bit of apologizing on my behalf for all of my many bonehead moves. It was going to give me direction and act as a honking great carrot to my ass. Um, Ass. Donkey. Whatever.

What today turned out to be was hellish. I don�t want to get into the specifics, but what I will say is there are people around me who make it blatantly obvious that my time is worth considerably less than theirs and if I can�t manage to whip out my powers of ESP and figure out what they want that way, I can bloody well take all those envelopes home and fill out the Purolator forms on my own time. I feel deflated and insulted and abused today and I have zero recourse. Gah.

My one decisive act of the day involved calling my old temp agency to tell them I would once again be on the market as of next Monday. January actually isn�t a bad time to be looking, since the beginning of the year sometimes marks the start of a budget year and therefore new positions at an array of local companies. Add to that the fact that I am beloved at said agency and I can only hope to find myself on the verge of a new adventure very soon. Wishers on, everyone.

Tonight, I will eschew the bead store and head home to make some lovely saffron basmati rice with chicken and roasted nuts. I have a new necklace pattern in mind, but need (yes, you guessed it) a fourth type of gold accent bead to make it really work. Maybe on the weekend.

Stay tuned for more on the making of The Plan. (It sort of sounds like a dvd extra, doesn�t it?)

Posted at 3:14 p.m.