2006-12-12

The stretch is the thing


Twenty pounds:
one pulse, one full lift
two pulses, two full lifts
three pulses, three full lifts
four pulses, four full lifts
five pulses, five full lifts
six pulses, six full lifts
seven pulses, seven full lifts
eight pulses, eight full lifts
nine pulses, nine full lifts
ten pulses, ten full lifts

Rachel really put the screws to me today, even after I gave her gifts!

A bag of mostly healthful chocolate granola and a cd bursting with peppy holiday tunes for her to use during her final two spinning classes of 2006. She recently landed her gig as a supply spinning teacher but I don't go because of my bum knees. I included Rasputin by Boney M even though it's not necessarily a holiday song; I imagine it's perfect for her purposes, though. I'm anxious to hear what she thinks of it.

I'm so pleased with my progress at the gym. We've gotten to the point where she likes to keep me talking as I count out reps in my head; I suspect it's her clever way to control my breathing and it's fun to keep her laughing while she comes up with nuttier and more whacked out things for me to do. Last week I had to lay on my side and lift my top leg while working out my triceps with my top arm. I was in the middle of the back workout room (the one where the No-Necks used to work out back when it was a Gold's in the early 90s) and all the guys were snickering, I could feel it. It's fun, really; never knowing what the next session will bring, what part of my body will get hit, what muscle group will quiver as I head off to the hot tub after booking my next appointment.

Now here I sit, enjoying the mild stretch and the knowledge that my metabolism has been ramped up for the next 16 hours or so. I might even snitch a piece of the fabulous (and I mean fabulous) Triple Chocolate Brownies I made for The Boy. I may post it as my Christmas Recipe this year so all you nice people might also partake of the 20 ounces of chocolate and three-quarters of a pound of butter involved.

(Blast, I think I just gained a pound typing that.)

This has been a Holidailies entry.

Posted at 7:06 p.m.