2006-12-15

Stalker much?

I fell in love with Jen Fu on June 22, 2002.

Her entry that day made me catch my breath and made my eyes sting and really really made me wish I could write with such passion. Where I try to be clever, she is easily honest and heartbreaking at the same time. Her ability to turn the camera inward without leaning toward the woeful, angsty end of the spectrum continues to amaze me to this day. This day, when she's finally getting that important piece of paper from grad school!

om mani padme hum was the name of her place in the ether when I first found her, and I burned through the archives one afternoon at work. (Don't look at me like that, I needed the break.)

She can recite pi to the 25th digit, up sticks and move cross-country with a minimum of fuss, participate in drunken podcasts and cultivate friendships with cool kids like mo pie and Jen Wade.

She reads and writes and goes to school and is writing a book and manages to blog about it all.

Her life is definitely worth the blogging; even if it weren't, I suspect she could make a lonely night in with a bad dvd and a bottle of hooch absolutely compelling. I've tried to treat her like my virtual mentor and will probably continue to do so, but it's possible I also need a local short story writing class to enhance my skills.

It's good to know she's out there (though waaay too far away for me to ever entertain the idea of actually meeting her) and that the circle of life has swung around to where she's kicking literary and scholastic ass; her stength of spirit and will to achieve gives me hope.

Congratulations, Jenner!

This has been a pandering Holidailies entry.

Posted at 7:26 p.m.