2005-01-27

Spinning my wheels

The Boy is sitting in an office that is not in his place of business right now. He's taken the day off to go to a job interview, one he got about five minutes after he dropped his resume off with security. And while I'm tickled pink that he's gotten an opportunity to move to another place of employ I'm feeling the tiniest bit sorry for myself, she who has been sending out resumes like a mad thing for three months now. TB claims it's because he has a trade and I'm only now leaning toward believing him on that score. But hell, I've been through college twice; doesn't that mean I at least have a functioning brain in my pretty little head?

I've really become flexible lately with regard to what I'm applying for. Initially, I was trying to keep things in a very narrow focus having to do with my previous education and work experience. At this point, I'm now whipping emails off to companies for the oddest-sounding positions like Functional Purchasing Consultant, Asset Coordinator etc. Ultimately I'm shooting for a job where I'm surrounded by a group of creative people doing creative work; if I can find that, I won't really care what it is I'm doing. The atmosphere has become the most important thing to me thanks to the horrific conditions I was forced to endure at the college for five years.

Another frustrating issue I've had to deal with surrounding The Unemployment has been my family and friends. The pity level I'm experiencing is rising, especially when you tack the miscarriage onto the board of my failures. My Mom and I spent a lovely weekday together on Tuesday, shopping and having lunch. She picked up the entire tab at S@m's Club as well as lunch, which I wasn't expecting. We said goodbye in the parking lot of the restaurant, promising to make plans for a quiet day of finger foods and cribbage in the very near future. I drove toward home with a car full of loot and very mixed feelings about why I had it. I can't stand that there are people out there who would totally benefit from having me on their payroll but I can't get that damn foot in the door. I'm powerless and the only direction I can find to aim my energies (other than baking) is to bombard my town with myriad emails. Sowing the seeds of me, as it were.

Come on, spring!

Posted at 11:52 a.m.