2006-12-09

Time to be Social


Today is the kickoff to our social obligations for the season.

I know when I say that it seems more like I'd be happy with my cabin in the woods but it's far less Unibomber than it sounds. My cousin (who was adopted) has in turn adopted a daughter. She came from China and when she arrived many years ago she was this tiny thing with shiny black hair and the biggest eyes I've ever seen. Her timidity soon gave way to the actions of a spoiled American child and the Gilbert Gottlieb in her came screaming out. Honestly, the sight of this child coming up the drive makes every nerve tingle and the hair on the back of my neck stand on end in protest. Her parents are possibly the worst I've ever seen outside of those cop 'reality' shows and I have to make sure I stay clean and sober during this painful afternoon because I worry that if I oil my tongue it will come loose and I will give my cousin a piece of my mind about what he is doing to this poor child. Such are the politics of family, I guess.

This will be the second Christmas celebration on my Dad's side since my aunt passed away; I can't believe where the time has gone. The thing that slightly creeps me about this afternoon is where my cousin Jill is hosting it: in the basement apartment of her home. The place they had all spiffed up to bring my aunt when they released her from the hospital.

They worked day and night on her new space, showed her pictures of the work as it was moving along and my other cousin the realtor helped to sell her condo and move her furniture; everything was going along just fine. Except she never got over that infection.

So now, as we sit in her beautiful digs eating shrimp and Imperial cheese, I will cast a glance at her Doulton figurines and silently remember. She was one of my favs, the oldest of my Dad's sisters, but she and her sister Carole came as a snark set, really. They both gave me a hard time in the best way and I loved it.

I really miss her.

This has been a Holidailies entry.

Posted at 7:12 a.m.