2006-01-02

So

So, I�m back. Thank you for your patience during this unscheduled interruption in service.

I�m not the first person to proclaim that the holidays were difficult, and I won�t be the last. All I ask is you keep in mind that as everyone�s frame of reference is different, so are everyone�s difficulties. This year, it was all about slapping on a smile and trying to deal with my own personal stuff without tipping my hand to the relatives. The whole exercise was quite an emotional drain. The end of each day left me curled up on the chesterfield, spent and not really wanting to talk. Or write. Holidailies, I apologize.

A couple of things that put a smile on my face were the gifts from my Mom; she added to my Willow Tree collection with the Angel of Hope. Of course, I opened it in front of my cousins and got all misty, so that was fun. The other gift was much more practical and awakened the geek in me: an iTrip.

One of the things about me that bugs the hell out of my sister is my propensity for taking my own sweet time opening/using/wearing newly-purchased items. In this case it was a good thing because I read in the Requirements section of the packaging that you need an iPod with a dock connection. I recharge Michaela using a cable and for a short while I worried that I would have to return my gift and then be forced to lie down on the floor and cry.

Have you ever tried to call a retail store on Boxing Day? It�s a hoot, I tell ya! Forty minutes later, after being on hold and having to listen to some truly horrible On Hold music, being disconnected and having to endure the frustrated sighs of a young lady who obviously felt I should brave the crowds like everyone else instead of taking up her valuable phone time, I was connected with Dan. Dan the Man. Dan, who after listening to my nervous recitation of the package directions, immediately informed me that everything was fine and dandy and I should commence ripping into the plastic box and just enjoy my new toy.

So, I�m now an FM transmitter. I transmit Michaela FM, a collection of some damn fine tunes. I force everyone within 50 feet of me to enjoy my tunes, even if they don�t care to. I fiddle with every radio I come across, tuning it to 88.1 and firing up M. just so I can get a giggle out of it working every single time. Okay, so I�m a dork.

Tomorrow, I�ll get into The Plan for 2006. I�m still putting some thought into it and so do not want to get ahead of myself.

Tonight, I will battle the traffic home through the freezing rain and black ice to enjoy some roasted potatoes and a lovely roast from the crock pot. As you can see, I�m not really ready to welcome the New Year just yet.

Posted at 12:09 p.m.