2005-12-16

Snow Flakes


Yesterday around noon, as I was returning from the Dean�s Office, I glanced out the large picture windows in the front foyer and noticed it had begun to snow. There was no wind, so it was fluttering down, all big flakes and white fluffy clouds; really, it was quite pretty.

Yet, everyone still goes mental.

Keep in mind, I live in what you would call a Zone 6 in plant hardiness terms. That�s approximately the -10C to 0C range, which doesn�t sound bad until you add in the Wind Chill Factor. This scientific calculation is the difference between racing to your car and spending five minutes shivering in your vehicle before you have recovered your faculties enough to proceed and feeling your underwear freeze to your ass the minute you hit the cold air. Still, the �warmer� weather, while excellent for your various appendages and digits, produces larger amounts of precipitation; snow showers, flurries, snow drifts, streamers off the lake, freezing drizzle and the like.

You�d think the one or two neurons in everyone�s brain that flickers and pops and jumps to life when the eyes see snow would retain the sense of care and timidity that�s almost mandatory behind the wheel. Some of the buck-stupid asses I�ve encountered over the past week have left me shaking my fist at the sky and wondering if my blood pressure�s risen to dangerous levels yet.

As I packed up to go home last night I listened with a smile to all the talk of today possibly being a Snow Day. I work with some silly people, but at least if I can smile at their expense once a day it�s worth it to hang around a bit longer.

Posted at 2:19 p.m.