2006-12-08

Snow Day


This morning, the powers in charge of weather patterns decided to aim a dagger of frozen precipitation directly at the heart of my city. It materialized as 60 snowy centimetres.

I found out around 0500 because The Boy spent a second night wide awake, in spite of the fact that last night I strongly suggested he take one of his highly effective blue pills to rectify the situation. God forbid he ever think I might have a rational idea or at the very least, something worth looking into. He paid dearly by getting a whole half hour of rest the entire night. I made coffee, then proceeded to spend the next hour and a half hitting redial, trying to call him in sick.

Once 0700 rolled around I tuned in to the local morning show. The one I interned for two years ago, the one that told me to 'just hang in there' and continue working for free and something would come up. The one with the host that I cannot bear. Still, I needed the local news, since the TO station I usually watch (I have luff for Kevin Frankish, I admit this freely) was only reporting the basics of the storm since it wasn't happening to them.

So fine, Meg, you live in Canada, just get out your snow blower and get over it! Except, The Boy has been meaning to fix our ailing snow blower since July. What else comes to mind when I think of July? Oh, right, that was about the time that I turned into a fishwife and began haranguing him, bellowing in menacing tones that this day would come and we wouldn't be prepared. And bing! here it is! A ton of snow suffocating Pepe and I have a Rachel appointment at 4:30. So I have to take The Beast, a truck I have issues handling on sunny summer days. I anticipate whipping down the road sideways, narrowly missing buses and pedestrians. Hey, at least it'll be a good cardio workout before my cardio workout.

The silver lining part of this day is the fact that, since the snow blower is out of order I had to shovel. And the shoveling? Was easy. Except for the part where, about 45 minutes in, I had to stop because my right hip was killing me. But my heart? Was kicking ass! I could have gone on another half hour! So, even though I can barely see the changes to my body in the mirror, I notice tremendous strides when I stop to pay attention to my body. And that is just about the best incentive in the world to continue down this path.

So now, it's off to challenge my muscles, then treat them to the glory that is the hot tub. Let's just hope Pervy Perverson, or He Who Hangs Around to Ogle, got snowed in at home today.

This has been a Holidailies entry.

Posted at 3:27 p.m.