2004-11-03

The Day After

(Seriously. Did you see the movie? Welcome to it, my friends).

~~

I am not a political animal.

I am not even American.

Still, I am sickened by what I saw happening yesterday.

At the risk of alienating anyone who reads this that might have voted for The Shrub:

What the fuck were you thinking?

Since the beginning I've been having a back-and-forth with my friend J about the outcome of this election. She sadly made the call months ago that it would go this way; I always managed to keep the faith, right up until late last night. How could I have been so wrong about so many of you???

Even I know that war-mongering without just cause, using the highest position in your nation to carry out years-old vendettas on behalf of your father and ignoring your own people's education and health crises are not actions you want to encourage. Yet, when you pulled that curtain and made your voice heard you hurt yourself, your country and the many people in it I love.

SHAME ON YOU.

Posted at 8:22 a.m.