2006-03-17

Rockin' Shams

Welcome to the latest edition of

Head Wars!

We�re heading into our fourth day of the challenge where I am currently shoving @dvil Migraine pills down my neck at a fast a furious rate, no longer concerned with the silly �recommended dosage� on the damn bottle. It�s all legalities, so it is. All I�ve achieved so far today is a feeling of being a bit stoned but still burdened with the ache in the left side of my head. The medication serves only to make me care less about the pain, not chase it away to the treacherous ninth level of hell where it belongs.

In a fit of common sense, I decided to attend a Bake Sale on this floor, where I procured many homemade goodies and supported that department in their quest to buy a cow for the uni�s community response to the HIV/AIDS crisis in Africa. Cows are needed in Mwanza, Tanzania in order to help produce probiotic yogurt. This yogurt has been proven to help reduce and stave off HIV/AIDS infections in women and children, including the transfer of infection from mother to child during birth, as well as reduce complications from diarrheal diseases.
Assuming the jacked-up sugar content of my treats would help reduce the pounding in my head, I scarfed down a fudgy brownie and a chocolate cupcake with festive green sprinkles; both were lovely. Sadly, it turns out I was only lying to myself as now I have a sugar high and my head, oh how she pounds!

Water, water must be the answer to my prayers�

Yes, good, it seems to be working. And the added five trips up and down two flights of stairs to the only half-decent washroom isn�t hurting my metabolism, which I need in high gear to combat the four pounds I will gain from the cramming of the sugar into my yap.

In other news, the ruckus from the beer tent in the courtyard has penetrated the building and the bass from the sound system is now vibrating our fillings. They seem to be playing Don McLean�s �American Pie� over and over�

I�m heading straight home after work, because if I see one pint of green beer this year I�m going to have to sit the poor owner of said pint down and subject him/her to a bit of a lecture on how that is absolutely not an Irish thing and wouldn�t they rather spend their time better understanding the Irish culture than getting bladdered? It won�t be pretty my friends.

Happy Friday. Go maire t� an l�!

Posted at 2:05 p.m.