2005-11-04

Scrubbing bubbles

So many things going through my head. So many snippets of sentences, random questions I need answers to, overheard sound bytes from the office, all crying out for my care so that they may blossom into full-blown entries. Yet all I�ve been ending up with lately are Word files filled with the date and what looks to be the word processor equivalent of a shopping list. Possibly some sort of Haiku.

I feel so inadequate.

What�s uppermost in my brain today is the dream I had last night. I was at a sci-fi convention and actually commanded Joss Whedon�s attention for what seemed like a full half hour. We strolled around the back of the convention center, commenting on certain displays and making chit chat, all the while I was psyching up to ask him a fan question, totally outing myself as a Whedonesque geek.

�So, um, Joss? Do you think the moment at the beginning of Objects in Space when River opens her eyes and you know her head is filled with everyone in Serenity including Jubal Early that she already also knows how the rest of the episode is going to play out?� (Picture this run-on sentence spewed out at Mach 3, just in case its content is so mind-crushingly stupid that he might not even really hear it and I would get to save face.)

But he did and it wasn�t, apparently. (Duh, it�s my dream and I rarely make myself out to be a doofus.) His answer surprised me, in part because since it�s all happening in my mind I think I would have already held his opinion to some degree. He brought up points I don�t think I�d ever considered which made the dream that much more real to me. It was a joy to wake up with that tingle you get when you experience a brush with greatness instead of a stomach full of acid from the adrenaline overload you get when you flee zombies all night.

That, and the fact that while sudsy is a word, you cannot have a single sud. For some reason, that annoys me.

Have a great weekend.

Posted at 1:53 p.m.