2004-12-10

Purchases!

Today, I took time out of my busy schedule of not working to have a little fun.

I've had a couple of gift certificates hanging around since last Christmas and as they were due to expire within the next three weeks, they needed to be used. I've always been such a packrat and while that usually means my house is nothing but a huge pile of kindling, it also means I occasionally get to shop when I wouldn't have the means to otherwise.

The definition of a shopaholic is a person who shops compulsively or frequently, so that's not me. I will mentally choose an item in the store and snap it up if I'm able or savour the anticipation if I cannot. Like three weeks ago, I found the greatest green leather purse at Danier. The perfect size. On sale. Yet I walked away, so yay me!

Today I dug out my certificate, braved the driving rain and overfull parking lot and now am looking at a brand new Danier bag not three feet away from me. I also cleaned up at Eddie Bauer with a lambswool sweater, long-sleeved t-shirt and socks for only $20 more than my second gift certificate afforded me. That bag is nestled nicely in between the new purse and my leather bag. I can't lie, I almost feel a little high when I have such a successful day shopping. Maybe they should revamp the definition, because I'm certainly feeling some sort of addiction.

Now I'm back at home sitting in my clean kitchen and preparing to decorate. It's warm in here, I have a Tim Horton's coffee to my right and the fourth season of Buffy on the laptop. I'm making hemp bracelets for my nieces and they're turning out well. The dogs have new boodas which are giving me 20 minutes of silence. All is well.

Speaking of the doggies, I just ordered their prezzies, so that's one more thing off my list. I'm getting them tags: Bailey gets 'don't make me beg', Murphy will be tagged with 'pure bred devil'. Trust me when I tell you, both choices are very fitting.

Now it's off to fill my new purse and ride this buzz! Whee!

Posted at 3:21 p.m.