2006-12-11

Puppy Breath


7:50 a.m.
My two sterling silver candleholders with the snowflake design and cinnamon candles are softly glowing, I have a hot cup of coffee on the go and a warm sleepy dog on either side of me. This is the last moment of peace I'll enjoy today.

I've been up since 12:50 this morning and have a hellish schedule ahead of me. Nothing horrid, simply errands and dog treat baking (Salmon Squares! Yum!) and the writing of Christmas cards; all solitary tasks, all very enjoyable to me. It's just the sheer volume that's managing to intimidate me today. Add the fact that I anticipate hitting the exhaustion wall around 3:00 p.m. and I'm already wondering if there's a size larger than Venti at Sbux.

Orders have been up since my first craft show in November and I couldn't be happier. I'm also glad I own so many box set dvds because the laptop keeps me company, running show after show while I mix, pour, roll and cut treats for all my furry little friends. It's rewarding work, even if I rarely get to meet my actual customers.

On Saturday, I successfully avoided my cousin's bratty kid by hanging out with my host cousin's brand new litter of Portuguese Water Dogs. If it weren't for the fact that each one costs $1,800, I would have tucked one in my bag and brought him home. Lightning was the name of my favorite little buddy; first born, already covered in beautiful curls and with the most delicious puppy breath. He has the same sign of Zorro in white across his black chest, just like my Bailey, and he loved chewing on my hair. Which sounds gross, but was so freaking adorable I briefly considered donning my Anime Eyes to get The Boy to relent.

As I was enjoying some quality nuzzling time with the tiny tot, it came to me out of the blue: this was an opportunity! After a hesitant conversation with my cousin (I'm not the best salesperson), I had a deal to send each puppy home with their new owner and a bag of my Trainin' Treats. They'll be too young to enjoy them when they first go home, but once obedience training begins I hope their owners choose to start off in a healthful manner.

New life is so wonderful in all its forms.

Hey, I think I just celebrated renewal; what a great present.

This has been a regenerating Holidailies entry.

Posted at 10:37 a.m.