2003-12-13

Promotion
I�m proud to announce that I�m getting this shameless self-promotion thing down.

Yesterday, I was in line at the Tim Horton�s at the college. I was fading fast and they closed in nine minutes, so I had the brilliant idea to prop up my blood sugar with a mocha. Not that their mochas are anything great compared to Sbux, but any port in a storm I say. The lady ahead of me was not having to endure such an ebb and was chatting animatedly with her friend about her dog and his penchant for leaping into the air to catch snowflakes with great verve.

I took a breath and said, �Well whaddya know, here�s me without any business cards. Can you wait her a moment?�

She looked surprised that I had jumped into her conversation, but it was a bemused and polite kind of surprise. So she waited. And I ran.

Once she found out what I was hawking, she was tickled. So was her friend. She cleaned me out of business cards to take back to their lunchroom. We talked briefly about pet nutrition and finicky cats and then they were off, leaving me to give myself a pat on the back.

Later, I headed off to my much-anticipated hair appointment. I had a few orders to drop off, so I wanted to do that first and be done with it. As I was handing out product, others came buzzing around asking questions. I felt like I was suddenly holding a lecture series on The Importance of Flaxseed as a Natural Anti-Inflammatory Agent in Older Dogs. Celeste went on and on about how her three ferrets are now hooked on the Mackerel Morsels and how she needs more since they keep breaking into the cupboards and raiding the treat boxes. They sure sound like a handful.

I was once again wiped out of business cards and had no roots showing by 7:00 p.m. I figured since I was having such a good day, I�d push the envelope and whip up to the mall for the Yankee Swap gifts I�d left until the last minute. Boy, was I glad I decided to fend off my fatigue and give it a shot. I managed to procure a hurricane lamp made from cranberry glass and a set of massive white block candles that spell out NOEL (a $50 value) for less than my $25 limit, even after taxes. So it was off to Chapters to get a gift certificate, a lovely hammered metal bookmark and a wee bar of Godiva chocolate (plus a dark bar just for moi). I suspect I�ll have both the heaviest and the lightest gifts at Mom�s tomorrow. Hopefully, I�ll have the most coveted and the game will really get good. Last year, everyone was far too polite, but by the end they got the idea. They were talking strategy even as early as last July, so I�m excited to see the carnage.

Today, I don�t even want to talk about. My To Do list is longer than my arm. Keep a good thought for me please.

Posted at 8:48 a.m.