2006-01-06

One Door Closes

This morning my eyes popped open and I was instantly awake. I realized the only light I could see emanated from the street light immediately outside our bedroom window and deduced from that it was still very early. Well, �very early� didn�t cover it, because in the next second my alarm clock rudely informed me it was 4:24. Since I was so desperately awake, I snuck out of our room and spent the next 15 minutes sitting on the floor, rubbing puppy bellies and trying to convince them in whispers that it wasn�t time for breakfast yet. They were unbelieving and hyper and so we moved the pet-fest into the kitchen, although I was certain their nails on the linoleum were going to wake the dead.

I let them out into the back yard, prayed they wouldn�t start barking at the imaginary squirrel that roams there and filled the kettle. There�s always a slightly odd vibe in my head on the days I wind up a contract; most times bittersweet, occasionally joyous (those are the contracts where I have daily contact with vile, power-mad wankers with tiny penii. Ahem.).

I grabbed my green cords, sexay brown cardigan, Celtic jasper necklace and my beautiful new chocolate brown leather boots so that would be everyone�s last image of me. I flattened my hair and left it down, adding a dash of Elements from Aveda to increase the shine factor and kept the makeup to a minimum, just highlighting my eyes and lips.

I usually treat myself to a Venti Sbux shi-shi coffee and pastry and I spend the last day bidding farewell to everyone who merits it. The biggest job on my final day is always clearing out the My Documents file on the computer. Today has been markedly different, in that my employers are trying their damndest to squeeze every last bit of labour out of me before 4:30 rolls around. I say that in jest mostly, because I realize it�s the beginning of term and the instructors couldn�t have cared less before the holiday break if their handouts were in order for January 3 or not. Still, one person retired and one has been on an extended holiday break so that just left C. and I, and I feel like I�ve been ridden hard and put away wet by these people for the past five days.

Luckily, I emailed my friend over at main campus about my contract end and she didn�t waste any time trying to find me another contract to jump to very shortly. It�s mainly mindless alpha-numeric input duties but at least it�s something to do while I wait for my Fabulous Job to come along. It also helps with the truck payments, and that�s basically what I�ve been losing sleep over since I found out the bad news on Tuesday. So phew. Sort of.

Have a great weekend everyone.

Posted at 1:47 p.m.