2003-12-17

My Way
Thank heavens; I didn�t wake up this morning with buyer�s remorse. When I think of everything I bought yesterday, I shudder. When I think of everything I�ve asked for that I�m not getting, I shudder. When I think of having to host Boxing Day, I shudder, take a little white pill with a slug of wine, and then shudder.

The one excellent thing about my offering to host Boxing Day is that The Boy will most likely have to complete my new sideboard before then. I�ve already got an agreement in principle with a work colleague to purchase my existing china cabinet, and I can�t move the sideboard in the house unless it�s going into the empty space the china cabinet will leave. I forced his hand. I�m not proud of it, but at the very least I will get my way in that regard.

Today was Cookie Exchange Day at work. I spent last night making Haystacks (my Mom�s excellent recipe) and this morning making macaroons. At one point last night, standing in front of a bowl consisting of four cups of melted chocolate chips and one cup of peanut butter, I officially snapped, grabbed a soup spoon and helped myself to a heaping portion before I added the chow mein noodles and peanuts. I threw the other ingredients in quickly, because I just knew if I didn�t, I would have to venture out into the snow and the wind to buy more chips to melt. I also knew what the fallout would be on my belly and hips. It�s bad enough when I�m making chili and I help myself to some ground beef before adding everything else. What�s that about, do you think?

So, I packaged up six of each cookie and tucked them neatly into four little bamboo steamers. Needless to say, it went over a treat. Everyone was impressed, and I was the belle of the ball! I in turn received four dozen assorted cookies, truffles and squares. And Joan�s Cherry Balls. I covet them, giving The Boy one once I get home and hiding the rest.

Season of giving? Okay, just not these.

Posted at 12:25 p.m.