2005-02-25

Music Meme

Dudes, I'm all scattered lately and for that I apologize. The unemployment, she's turning my brain into Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal.

For today I have yet another meme, this time brought to you in part by this gentleman, someone I met through Col's journal. And hey! he lives pretty dang close to me to boot. Thanks, Mike.

1. Song that sounds like happy feels:
Love Foolosophy, Jamiroquai

I bop around like a purebred doofus whenever this comes on my iPod. Doesn't matter if it's in the doctor's office, the grocery store or a restaurant, the rythm is gonna get me. Probably in my seat, but there's still some serious jiving going on.

2. Earliest (music) memory:

I'm certain there are songs that came before, but the one that jumps out harkens back to age 5 or 6: Harper Valley PTA. My parents had their friends over and their daughter, who I adored, tuned the radio to a station I was not familiar with. I didn't move it from that spot for the next month, so I learned a bumper crop of new songs that were much too adult for my young ears.

3. Last CD you bought:
As/Is, John Mayer. (Duh).

4. Reminds you of school:
Pink Floyd's The Wall, both the song and the film.

When I was waitressing in the college pub, my boss knew it could be the middle of the shift but I would stop to watch the flick when it came on the big screen. In high school, I remember hearing a radio show featuring the album in its entirety on a drive home from night school. As I pulled in the laneway at home the show was only half over so I shut off the car, reclined the seat and spent the remainder of the show drinking in the music and contemplating the full moon.

5. Total Music Files on your PC:
7,337 files as of right this minute.

It might just be me, but man that's a lot.

6. Song for listening to repeatedly when depressed:
Goodbye to You, Michelle Branch.

Not that I would know about playing one song over and over, weeping and gnashing my teeth and shaking my fist at the air, no sir.

7. Sounds British, but isn't:
I always thought What I Like About You by The Romantics sounded vaguely British.

More Motor City than Man City, huh?

8. Song you love, band you hate:
The First Cut Is The Deepest, Sheryl Crow

Lawdy, I hate that woman's sound. I suppose that's why I enjoy a cover song, at least it mostly sounds like the original.

9. A favorite song from the past that took ages to track down:
Burn Down the Mission, Phil Collins

This came from the Two Rooms cd, a cd which I can no longer find in this house. I blame my sister.

10. Bought the album for one good song:
The Better Life, 3 Doors Down

I only enjoyed Here Without You, for the love o' Pete. And they wonder why people make such prolific use of the p-2-p networks....wonder no more.

11. Worst song to get stuck in your head:
Mari Mac.

Just try to chase that ditty out of your head once it gets a foothold, I double dog dare you!

12. Best song to dump a beer on someone's head to, then storm out of the bar?
Ain't Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore, The Divinyls

Cause you know, it's all meaningful.

Posted at 10:52 a.m.