2004-05-12

More on Murph

This morning, Zam asked for more dirt about Murph the Serf (AKA Mr. Peabody), and I am nothing if not obliging so here you go, darlin:

Murphy has been doing his level best to settle in to life in the Slow Lane here. Days spent lounging around in bed, in front of the telly, in the Tea Room on the pink carpet were proving a little too much for the troublemaker in him at first. He loves to pull his nasty little guerilla attack techniques, hiding behind corners and jumping out to clock Bailey one as she innocently strolls over to her water dish. He's been trying to establish dominance and the weird thing is he has already been about 50% successful. Bailey will put up with some of his shite but kicks his ass soundly for other, seemingly random occurrences. It really is something to watch.

My favorite times of the day are when they both get interested in what I�m doing. They will toddle after me in tandem, silently watching me from a few feet away. There are certain situations where they will work as a team for the greater good (usually food), and that gives me hope they will come to live in harmony. Murphy�s first obedience class is tonight, so in the words of Red Foreman,

�Fun time is over!�

Last month�s fun time with hormones is also over, and I am sorry to say it was all for naught again. The nurse who was making the test result calls left a message on my cell phone and she couldn�t have been nicer. I always try to keep in mind that the success rate for this procedure is really crappy and not to get my hopes up. I like to chant this little mantra every night I have to stick myself with a needle or pop another couple of pills in a place where women should not be popping pills. It�s a lot of work and scheduling and counting days and giving blood, which wouldn�t be such a pain if it ultimately provided you with a tangible, screaming, pooping, adorable result. Oh well.

I guess for the moment I�ll just concentrate on these two turkeys:

Posted at 1:33 p.m.