2004-01-13

Positively.....adequate
I sometimes wonder what�s up with me. It�s usually a vague wondering, something that slips in and out of the transom of my mind. Today, it�s more of a nagging question. One of those things that, if the answer is what you think it might be, disturbs you to your very core.

There�s been all this talk and all these journal entries lately about the wonderfulness that is Depp the Pirate. And the Lord of the Rings mania, let us not forget that marketing marvel. Legions of fans, pulling sickies and staying home from work to settle in with hot toddies and hours and hours of these two shows. There appears to be some sort of healing quality that the medical establishment dares not qualify but that nonetheless works wonders with muscle aches and phlegm.

And I�m having none of it.

It�s not that I have anything against these Masters of the Movie Theatre; it�s just that I�m not moved by them one way or the other. I appreciate an epic film featuring a cast of thousands and I enjoyed reading the LOTR, but that�s where it ends. And it�s not that I don�t go a little Cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs over a few things in this life, either. Ordinarily, I would simply shrug and go along my merry way, comforted by the fact that variety is the spice of life and is precisely what makes the world go round. And yet�

The sheer volume of rabid fans of both these cinematic enterprises leads me to wonder if I�m missing some sort of mandatory gene or my DNA strands are fraying slightly just around the edges. I can�t work up any enthusiasm for them, not one little iota. It�s worrying, I don�t mind telling you.

Posted at 3:33 p.m.