2004-01-21

Losing it in the snow
Okay, I�ve officially had enough of winter. And it�s not even close to February yet.

And don�t think you can make this shite weather sound all cutesy by calling it adorable names like the Alberta Clipper and such. It doesn�t fly with any of us living in the Great Lakes area, Dude on the Weather Network.

I�m cold and wet and it�s dark out. I cannot walk in this snowy madness in my lovely leather boots with any measure of authority. I didn�t have time to get breakfast together before leaving the house and a water main broke through the night and we have no water. Yee-haw, that was nasty wasn�t it? Just about as nasty as the Season Two of Buffy I have to exchange at the Future Shop tonight because Disc One has little bubbles on the surface of the disc that cause the picture to become pixilated and degrade like mad, then pause the player forever and a day.

You might be wondering just what manner of bug has crawled up my ass. You might be wondering if my meds need adjusting. You might be ready to move on over to this chickadee�s journal, or maybe hers, or possibly check out this dude's scribblings. Okay, go ahead! Who needs ya anyway! *sob*

Okay, the truth is I�m giving up smoking. And I�m going to be one hell of a bear while I�m doing it. I�ve had 9 cigarettes in 21 days, and of that I�m pretty durn proud. What I�m not proud of is this little voice in the back of my head, telling me I�ll never really give it up completely, it�s all a ruse, I�m too weak. And working where I do, I�m inclined to believe the Taunting Voice. It�s all stress, all the time. The shiny happy kids are few and far between, and fail to provide me with the oomph to keep a positive thought, sadly. You�d think in an office where we hand out money, things would be all rainbows and unicorns, non? Except, it�s never enough and never fast enough and the interest rate is too high and it�s all our fault and how can we do this to the poor, downtrodden kids??? Where is the humanity???

I need a smoke.

Posted at 12:30 p.m.