2004-01-02

Immaturity
Here I sit at my desk in wrinkled jeans that need a good launder, no makeup (yikes!), a Roots sweatshirt that saw better days in 1992 and bed head. This ensemble is my wordless protest at having to be at work today. I�ve been stewing about it since yesterday, so I effectively ruined the last half day of my actual holidays. What a baby, you say. Yes, I agree. That doesn�t change the fact that I�m royally pissed off today.

Every college in 0ntari0 has the day off today. Except us. Thanks to the frickin� union, I�m sat here with a look on my face that can only cause wrinkles. Because it surely isn�t going to cause the clock to move any faster.

When I was granted a day off back in August due to the Monster Blackout, some 40-odd union brothers and sisters grieved the fact that they were on vacation and didn�t get that day as some sort of extra. Fuck you; you made yourself unavailable that day. Which is how it eventually worked itself out, and I give the college full marks for not backing down. However, they then didn�t feel all generous of spirit and told the poor schmucks at the bottom of the seniority ladder that no, we�re not about to close the doors on January 2. So it�s a double-edged sword, resulting in the mood you see here.

The next entry will outline my holiday, promise. I just have to get through this rotten day first. Thank heavens for chat is all I can say.

Posted at 11:37 a.m.