2006-12-23

Home Now

At 2:47 p.m. yesterday I rolled into my driveway, turned off my engine and breathed a massive sigh of relief. My shopping is now officially completed.

In what turned out to be an unwise decision, I struck out shortly after 9:00 a.m. with a brief list of four as-yet unfinished tasks, a predetermined route, a fully charged iPod and a very large coffee. I resolved to complete my appointed tasks quickly and with a minimum of fuss.

If only it would have gone to plan, I think I could have happily accepted that as my Christmas gift this year.

The rain was falling hard today and while it wasn't snow and I was definitely grateful for that, I still unknowingly went shopping on The Day Before The Busiest Shopping Day of the Year. What a dolt I was.

Every lobotomized driver was out in force, along with the elderly in their too-large vehicles with their stunning inability to respond in situations that warrant it; namely, what to do when trying to turn left in the middle of an intersection on a yellow light? Why, sit still of course. Because surely if they just wait, something will happen and all will be right with the world again.

The only other problem was the route: my stops fully covered the width and breadth of my city. Considering the layout of roads and fact that the water supply on the city planners floor at City Hall must have been tainted with bad crack for the past 20 years, there exists no expressway to move you straight from one end to another. It takes around 30 minutes regardless of the path you choose, is chock full of close calls, construction and a bazillion stop lights to add that little bit of spice to your already percolating case of road rage.

I sincerely do not wish to sound like a whiny brat but mark my words, next year everything I gift will come from @m@zon or the new block of plazas by my old hometown, full stop.

This has been a slightly harried Holidailies entry.

Posted at 1:43 p.m.