2005-12-07

Welcome to Holidailies 2005

Well, here we are then. Another year of Holidailies. Welcome!

If I recall correctly, this will be my third year of participation, and after watching some of my friends get stuck in to NaNoWriMo, I figure the simple act of updating daily will be a snap. I certainly hope you all want to hear about my holiday card lists, or my grocery lists or the delectable goodies I plan to make for all the functions to which The Boy and I are invited.

Honestly, I have noticed a shift in my feelings toward the �holiday season� over the past couple of years. Where once I yearned to be the Belle of the Winter Ball, attending parties and spreading yuletide joy every single day of the month of December, I find now I am happier staying in and watching the lights twinkle on the top of the entertainment armoire. Each year, I set up quite an elaborate gathering of angels, nutcracker soldiers at strict attention, Boyd�s Bears collectible ornaments amongst garland and clear lights and small silk poinsettias. It might be the one single thing aside from my beautiful, beautiful tree that brings me the most joy each year.

Now, I�ll tell you what you�re wondering. You�re wondering why I wouldn�t place people above things when I speak of holiday joy. (And that�s another thing: I detest that I have been taught to feel compelled to say �holiday� in place of Christmas all the live long day. Before it all went pear-shaped I was a Christian and I still choose to celebrate Christmas and I have just as much right to say that word as you do to dance around your Festivus pole, rhyming off your list of grievances. Bloody hell, there are more important things to worry about, people.) I derive my greatest joy from things I�ve made or things that nature has made. A tree is simply a tree; it will not let you down or pull some passive-aggressive shite on you when you least expect it.

The one thing that continues to burn bright within me is my dependence on tradition. Certain things must be done at certain times and The Boy doesn�t even attempt to sway me on these things each year because it�s a waste of effort. My Mom advised him on how to proceed with me years ago and it was one of the few times he truly understood the gravity of the situation and didn�t think he knew better.

Other than that, for Christmas this year I believe I�m turning into my Mother. What I really wanted was a dvd recorder.

Posted at 11:38 a.m.