2005-05-06

One hell of a woman

The Boy tells me I watch too much television. I, of course, do not agree but now I have this niggling voice in the back of my head shaking it's finger at me and making these 'tsk, tsk' sounds when I pop in a Family Guy dvd or set the vcr timer to catch another hour of Coronation Street.
The nice thing is every once in a while I get to hear a bit of verbiage that provides some much-needed pep. In this case the DVD of the Day was Season Six of Buffy. The exchange between the Buffinator and Agent Finn where he seems surprised that she's so down on herself for the situation in which she finds herself.

"Wheel never stops turning, Buffy. You're up, you're down ... it doesn't change what you are. And you are a hell of a woman."

I'm going to take a page from that book and try to alter my thinking. Just because I'm in the shittiest place on earth right now, it's just the hand I've been dealt. It doesn't mean I'm not also one hell of a women. Because I am.

=========================

In a fit of shame about not writing recently, I've decided to dig into their archives and do the Friday Five from my birthday week.

No thinking allowed! Write down the first answers that pop into your head:

1. Things on your mind right now.

I need to finish the laundry and go to Shoppers for Advil Migraine and leg wax. I shouldn't have had so much for lunch. Thank heaven the dogs have finally calmed down for their afternoon nap. The construction crew have begun their five-month Bang Fest on our street. Mmmm, soft new jammies. Bleah, nausea.

2. Songs you like.

Lately? Two that make me think of a friend I won't be seeing until at least Christmas: The Gourds' cover of Gin and Juice and Yeah, Yeah, Yeah by Uncle Kracker. Strangely enough, these tunes are SO not like me. I'm not saying I'm all about Brandenburg's Concerto No. 3 in G but my rap days ended when En Vogue broke up, ya know?

3. Things that make you angry.

Inconsiderate and/or stupid people in stores, inconsiderate and/or stupid people on our roads, buying something two days before it goes on sale, people who think their job is the worst, most labour-intensive job in the world and I should throw myself upon my bed and weep for all that the mean ol' world has thrown at them, doctors who 'have no idea' what's wrong with my elderly Aunt and just keep taking blood and subjecting her to invasive procedures while vaguely talking about surgery, people who pay with a bazillion coupons or a ton of change and no substitutions on lunch specials when what I'm asking for is actually less expensive than what they're offering. That's what immediately leaps to mind today but there's more, trust me on that.

4. Things that make you happy.

A warm puppy kiss, a proper hug (not one that only consists of touching shoulders), long-forgotten gift certificates I find in my papers to places I love, loyal friends who put up with my shit and don't disappear, Firefly, my recipe book collection, blooming hostas, a Venti One-Pump Say Tazo Chai Latte, Micheala (my iPod), Kate (my niece), girlie days spent with my Mom, semi-precious stones, (certain sane corners of) the internet, dark chocolate and Guinness.

5. People who have made a big impact on your life.

My Mom.

My public school music teacher Mrs. Schramm who fostered my love of harmony and encouraged me to sing from the diaphragm.

Mr. Pike from Grade 13 English kept 'marks' in his pocket and handed them out as a reward for particularly insightful answers. He died on the steps of a Grecian amphitheatre while on holiday; very fitting, I think.

Stephen, for too many reasons to list here.

Have a lovely weekend.

Posted at 2:00 p.m.