2005-12-08

Going Up


Today is the day of the million man march in my head.

My office is directly beside the shaft of an elevator that is in the midst of some very necessary maintenance. I don�t really want to know the specifics because I�ve ridden that elevator a few times. Frankly, the nightmares I already have in my arsenal are bad enough; I don�t need to add some sort of vivid Speed-esque montage.

The last few days have been filled with the nice men from Otis cordoning off the area and warning of the disruption to come. Apparently, it�s going to take most of the month to get their work done. From what I�ve heard today, I�m headed for committal by the time the office closes on December 23.

Jackhammers are not my friend, especially on days when I feel I could easily be prone to a migraine. Thanks be, today is not one of those days. And it�s not like the constant rat-a-tat-tat is the annoying part, although it�s Up There for sure. It�s the vibration through the wall and me having no escape that�s driving me up the wall.

From what I understand, the shelf life of a jackhammer operator is short; hearing damage and white finger syndrome or some such can set in pretty quickly. This is why it�s good that they are able to charge the big bucks for their time. I cannot imagine spending quality close-up time with one of those beasts, especially in an enclosed space like an elevator shaft. I�d rather spend the morning cutting little slices into my gums with unwaxed dental floss.

Those colleagues who live in the fairytale land of Unicorns and Rainbows are engaged in rampant speculation that The Dean might allow us to go early today due to the current decibel level. They�re just so cute.

Me, I�m just going to turn up the volume on Michaela and tune out. I�ll just treat it like I do when a certain leader of a certain nation to the south speaks.

(Currently listening to: Morris Day and The Time � The Bird).

Posted at 1:42 p.m.