2004-08-06

Fin, really

So, my last day.

Seriously, I�ve been noodling around with the internet and chat since I got in, interspersed with people dropping by my workspace with a kind word and a hug. I wonder how any of them know this is the absolute last time they�ll find me at this desk, doing this work. Mind, I never underestimate the grapevine around here.

Also, I�ve been having some perverse fun coming up with reasons why I�ll be insanely glad I�m Never Coming Back. Things like the dysfunctional group I work with; each one of them merits a couple of paragraphs, but I choose not to give them the attention they crave. Suffice it to say they deserve each other and leave it at that. The only fly in the ointment is that I cannot pity them and their insanity because they all have secure jobs and make gobs of money. I want them to suffer. However, for karmic reasons I will have to wait until the college crumbles into a monstrous sinkhole or some virus takes them out one by one in a horrifying, liquefying organs type of deal; either way.

I won�t be chained to this desk, noting each and every Social Insurance Number on my statistics sheet. These production stats aren�t even used, so what�s the use? And oh yes, I won�t have to listen to the soundtrack to Grease again in this life. I probably will, but it won�t be any time soon and it certainly won�t be put on a random setting with Johnny Cash and some sort of bizarre operatic collage. The insane just keeps on coming.

My headache came with me to see Dr. George, called shotgun on the drive for sushi and curled up in bed with me last night. It made me coffee this morning and is sitting on my shoulder as I type this. If it takes every last bit of willpower I have, it will not get packed up with my toiletries and visit my friend�s trailer with me tonight. If it does, I might have to do myself a mischief, I swear. These flippin� things are so debilitating.

The good parts of my day are probably on an even par with the bad so far:

I applied (grudgingly) for a position in the Planning Office this morning. I don�t have the accounting or the statistics background they require but it was worth a shot. I emailed Cindy at the temp agency to inform her this was my last day and she emailed back to dangle the possibility of three temp-to-perm contracts in front of me! The first two, let�s be serious, require me to dress up, wear hose and work reception. None of which are going to happen. The third she only introduced by saying it was an �amazing opportunity� she thinks I will be very interested in. Golly, amazing? I hope she�s not just flinging that word around willy-nilly, because it�s not nice to tease. I have an appointment to sit down face to face next Tuesday.

I mentioned the trailer, another plus for sure.

My niece Kate called me to talk about her trip to the conservation area yesterday. She�s such a hoot. Then she put Mom on and we firmed up our day trip next Tuesday after my meeting. It�s been ages since we all struck out like that; I�m really looking forward to it.

And now, as I should really leave this place in a blaze of glory, I�ll be getting back to the pile of editing to my immediate left.

I�m amazing: you all want to hire me and you know it!

Posted at 12:13 p.m.