2003-11-29

Let the sales begin!

Now, this Friday Five is one I can get on board with...

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not?

For a long while back in the early 90s, I suspected I was a shopaholic. If I could recover even a portion of the money I spent on Ralph Lauren sweaters, useless sale items, another pair of shoes or spontaneous gifts of flowers, I�d have enough money to upgrade my computer. And my house.

I even enjoy grocery shopping. The whole ritual is so enjoyable to me. I start with the list, written in accordance with the aisles at the market so I don�t miss something. I proudly bring along my pretty purple �Bin shopping!� totes, effectively abolishing the need to cart home twenty plastic bags, all bursting at their flimsy seams. Even the market I chose so many years ago suits my personality. Live music filters down from the mezzanine above every weekend, the wine store is always ready to share samples of their wares and the in-house drugstore has one of the lowest dispensing fees around. There are all these little displays full of useful products that keep my interest, helping me to better focus on the mundane tasks like picking up toothpaste and womanly products. Checkout is a blast, because that�s when I get to treat the market like the library, pulling out and reading only the choicest bits of the myriad magazines on the long rack.

Years ago, Mom taught me to watch the cashier swipe everything to ensure the price is what it should be instead of going over the receipt once I got home. That piece of advice has stood me in good stead over the years, once netting me a free fruit bowl. It was part of a promotion regarding the accuracy of their scanners.

Even now, years later, a quick purchase of a pair of shoes or a season of Buffy on dvd can really perk up a shitty day or an anxiety-riddled mood. I figure as long as I keep with the debit card and away from the credit cards, it�s a victimless crime.

2. What was the last thing you purchased?

Last Saturday, I drove to Windsor and wound up with a new Columbia coat and Danier chocolate brown leather purse. The coat was $178 less than at home, the purse saved me $20. I�m still giddy.

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?

If it has to be tried on, actual stores rock. I never understood how people could successfully shop from the likes of the L.L. Bean catalogue year after year. I must have a body shape that no one in the catalogue industry has ever considered.

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?

I can�t remember the exact amount, but I do recall never wanting for much. I also remember coming up with interesting schemes to make additional cash. One of these ideas centered on taking all the clothes out of my closet and inserting a dining room chair, placed sideways, so I could see the profile of my victim. Customer. Whatever. I would sketch their picture, taking great pains to appear to be putting heart and soul into my creation, so when I finally handed it over with a satisfied grin, they would be so relieved to simply be released from the chair I would be handsomely rewarded.

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?

A pair of black leather sneakers that were only $19.99 if I bought a certain pair of boots. They hurt my feet and the toes are a skosh too square for my liking. I wear them because I feel beholden to wear anything I�ve paid money for. On the other hand, I covet this particular pair of Rockport black sneakers. I suspect I�ll use some of my holiday money and give my poor tootsies a break.

Have a great weekend! May your returns be few.

Friday Five!

Posted at 7:02 a.m.