2003-12-14

Once again with the food theme
Anyone who�s been reading me knows in some ways I�m a fierce traditionalist when it comes to my holidays. But I also like to create new ones that I can then be fierce about in my later years.

That said, I would like to present to you lovely people one of my little creations. Keep in mind, it tastes great any day of the year but (call me crazy) I will absolutely only make it on Christmas eve. We make it up to the soaking stage the night before, then take it out of the fridge as soon as we get up the next morning. Half an hour later we bung it in the oven so it�s waiting for us when we�re finished opening gifties. Enjoy.

Famous December 25 Breakfast Enchiladas

2 tsp vegetable or olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 c mushrooms, chopped

2 c finely chopped cooked chicken breast

8 8� flour tortillas

2 c shredded old cheddar cheese

5 eggs

2 c milk

1 tblsp all-purpose flour

Cook onion, garlic and mushrooms in oil for about five minutes. Stir in chicken. Place about three tablespoons onto half of each tortilla. Add three tablespoons cheese, then roll up tightly and place seam side down in a greased 9 x 13 dish.

In bowl, beat eggs; blend in milk and flour � pour over tortillas. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Make sure to leave out at least half an hour the next morning.

Bake in 350-degree oven for 50 minutes or until egg mixture is burnished and blooming, and until a knife comes out clean.

Sprinkle with remaining cheese and let rest for 5-10 minutes.

Serve with sour cream and salsa.

Posted at 7:18 a.m.