2004-09-21

Bring in Da Funk

I'm in the strangest mood lately. Describing it has even been difficult, so you just gotta know it's something odd happening to my body. If it were the usual combination of symptoms, I'd say it was another bout of depression and make an appointment to see my GP. Or maybe not, since it might disqualify me for the infertility program and Lord knows, we waited long enough in the first place; I don't want that on my head.

Last Saturday's Half Day with Dale helped improve my mood, as I was exfoliated and massaged and buffed and painted up nice and pretty. I also got to visit with my buddy of 24 years, so bonus! I don't know how I'd feel about letting someone else mess around with my blackheads... On the up side, she told me my new diet regime had resulted in my skin being completely hydrated, finally excusing me from Ye Olde Water Drinking Lecture. I look forward to having the skin of a toddler until the day I die!

After leaving Dale's, I headed out to the local greenhouse. Rumour had it the owner was in receivership and lo and behold the grapevine in my hometown didn't let me down. I got five healthy mums in various colours for a tenner, no tax and proceeded to hand them out to the women of my family in a spurt of generosity.

On to my Mom's house and a visit with the family unit, except my niece Kate was there so no cribbage :( We ate mac 'n' cheese with weiners, petted the neighbourhood kitties and looked through photo albums. I was reminded what a cute kid I was. I sat in the gazebo and stared up at the cloudless sky, attempting to absolutely clear my mind of anything. Not just the bad stuff, I was working to see if I had the discipline to reduce my mind to a blank canvas. It only worked for a few seconds, until I realized I was doing it, then for some reason a Red Rider BB Gun appeared out of nowhere, then a vision of my Gramps from around 1972, then the front page of my journal then there was a flood of images and I had lost it. I keep telling my sister to try meditation; maybe I should get a book and give it an honest shot. I need a tool to houseclean my cranium, for there are many cobwebs up there.

So really, even the good stuff is tinged with mediocrity and boredom lately. It's affecting my day to day living, my writing, my everything. And it's getting annoying. (Hey! There's a vivid emotion...) I apologize for my absence and for this doddering chain of words. I'll be better soon.

Posted at 11:33 a.m.