2004-01-03

Contact
The poor quality vibes I was sending out yesterday must not have done much harm, because this morning I found a happy surprise in my Inbox.

A gentleman hailing from Australia found me through my 26 things submission from last summer. He runs a site something like the human clock (which is a very cool site, by the way) and is looking for submissions. Except, with these submissions go a 300+ word description of the thinking behind the picture on the day it was taken.

The Boy heard about this and rolled his eyes at the additional writing work. Seriously, there are days when I wonder how on earth we got together. I probably spit out 300 words at night when I talk in my sleep! This is nothing! And better yet, it really sounds like something I want to do. So I�m in. I�ll get started plowing through my archives at first, then get into new pics once the Mass Releasing Madness of January winds down.

The other unsolicited email of the month belongs to a chap from England who�s looking for extended family. He did a quick Google a week ago and contacted the first five people he came across. I don�t think we�re closely related, but I�m going to send him info on us going back to 1878 and let him have at it.

Today we are dismantling the computer to make way for the new desk. It�s my friend Lisa�s cast-off, but I�m really warming to the phrase �new to you�. The monitor will sit differently and give my neck a break. (Neck�break�.ahem). It has a locking file drawer and it�s about five inches longer, giving me more space to use or not use, depending on my decorating mojo once it gets here. I�m really moving away from the knick-knack mentality. I find not only the room is less cluttered as a result, but my mind as well. My old desk goes to my sister tomorrow, and she�s also well pleased, as the stand they�re using at the moment isn�t even a computer desk, but some sort of kitchen gadget thing. If I had room I�d ask for it to house my Kitchen Aid, but I am devoid of the kind of space it would require. We�re supersaturated with things so this is the year of the purge, methinks.

I�m off to recharge my camera batteries, dust the hell out of this desk and vacuum the great pile of dog hair from under it once it�s moved. That Bailey, she�s everywhere.

Posted at 7:00 a.m.