2005-03-01

Comfort Food

Today you're getting a recipe instead of an entry because I have nothing to tell you that isn't shitty. I've not heard back from the job interview I kicked ass at, my Gran's inheritance cheque still hasn't been delivered from the punkass lawyer who knows how to take his damn time and pad the damn bill and I'm so sore from my water aerobics I'm hobbling around the house like a 90-year old. I'm in some serious need of good karma but I suspect waiting for it to show up is like waiting for our 8-million dollar lottery win. So, instead: food.

I've been making these muffins for more than 20 years and didn't realize it until just now. My fantastic Mom puts the name of the person who gave her the recipe and the date at the bottom and for that I'm so glad. I also have a Sweet and Sour Pork stirfry that I've been making since I learned how in 4-H a million years ago. Or maybe 25, I'm not sure anymore. I also noticed that I'm turning into my Gran who used to cook without the aid of a tattered, food-stained piece of paper from the recipe box in the pantry. This is probably good in a way, since I'm more inclined to fiddle with the ingredient list when I'm not sticking steadfastly to someone else's idea of how to make Roasted Tomato, Mushroom and Chicken Penne.

All you impetuous types: Make sure you read the ingredient list before you lunge ahead! You need to have wheat germ in the house for this to turn out. And you can totally just sour some milk if you don't have buttermilk; that's 1 Tblsp of vinegar in a measuring cup, pour in the milk up to one cup then let it rest briefly.

Choco-Wheat Germ Muffins

1/2 c margarine (you know those wrapped baking squares?)
2/3 c white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp pure vanilla
11/2 c AP flour
1 tsp baking soda
3 Tbsp cocoa (GOOD cocoa, not drinking chocolate)
1/2 tsp salt
1 c buttermilk or sour milk
1/2 c wheat germ
1 c chocolate chips

Cream the margarine, sugar, egg and vanilla in a large bowl.

Sift the flour, soda, cocoa and salt.

Stir the dry ingredients into the margarine mixture alternately with the buttermilk.

Fold in the wheat germ and the chocolate chips.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Note: these are always best to eat after 15 seconds in the microwave.

Posted at 8:08 a.m.