2006-12-06

Got a Brand New Bag


I'm missing Season Three of Gilmore girls.

For that reason, I've finished up the series early and moved on to The Office; that was Monday and Tuesday. After one of my Rachel Sessions at the gym, I started up with House. I was going to go old school and start at square one, season one, but thanks to a generous benefactor in my life I am now the proud owner of the second season. I've since been nibbling away at the eps like they're gold. I love Gregory House and God, how I would love to wield the snark in the workplace like that man.

It's just his drug addiction...

"Pisceans should avoid intoxicants, as this is one of the addictive signs. The susceptibility of the Piscean nature to drugs and alcohol as a way of dealing with the pressures of the world needs to be addressed in a sensitive and realistic way."

While Hugh Laurie is a Gemini, I'm almost certain House is a fellow Pisces. Watching the dangerous path he's chosen (yes, the writers have chosen, I'm not that far removed from reality), makes me squirm. There, but for the grace of my fear, go I. Although I would also kill to have Robert Sean Leonard as a best friend with benefits.

Through the years I've introduced myself to a wide array of items that can alter one's personality. Some have yielded extremely pleasant results, some were distasteful and some didn't work at all. Unfortunately, the pleasure principle, in my own head at least, is almost immediately overruled by the fear that I will become unable to stop using it. Watching House degrade through the seasons has raised in me a troubling morbid curiosity about where this is going to end.

Back to my Rachel Sessions: In an effort to counteract the effects of the one 'item' I cannot avoid, food, I allowed my Mom to twist my arm back in July and get me into the same local gym I was a halfhearted member of back in 1994. The only addition? A personal trainer. Rachel, the previously hefty girl who is now a shadow of her former self is helping me pare down. Successfully! She knows what I'm going through and has pretty much called the steps I'd go through to a tee. I'm experiencing a stage at the moment where I hate my body even more than I did before I started, but I'm assuming it's all part of that, 'it gets worse before it gets better' psychological thing. I feel better, cleaner, I walk and sit with near-perfect posture and can now imagine my arteries are free-flowing and healthy. I'm taking a positive step.

Although I suspect I'm addicted to box dvd sets now.

Posted at 9:26 a.m.