2004-08-02

Holiday Monday
I officially have four days left at the office. It might have been the nearness of my joblessness that caused this holiday Monday to seem like just another day.

We didn't do anything. I haven't left the house; I'm still in my jammies at 5:39 in the afternoon. The Boy mowed the lawn and pulled weeds in preparation for the pouring of the cubic buttload of cement around the garage, happening soon. I cleaned up the kitchen, culled some of the crap out of the fridge and collected old newpapers for the recycle guy on Thursday. I might still be able to eke out enough energy to vaccuum, clean the washroom and organize the top of the entertainment centre. Maybe.

Murphy has been a complete hellion today. He's already set his mind to destroying Bailey's Baby Booda, stuffed hedgehog and float; now he's on to her old tennis ball. He's such a greedy boy, he wants what she's got and what he's already got, even though he couldn't possibly fit everything in his mouth. He guards all the toys behind his honkin' great paws and gives the funniest look...you really can't help but giggle, which probably isn't what he was going for.

I'm officially 3/4 of the way through the first of two baby afghans being made for my friend Heather, who is pregnant with twins. They're due in early November, so I've got tons of time to finish them both, but I find if I don't get on the ball now, I'll be up at 4:30 the morning of the shower, crocheting away like a mad thing. It's a fault, but at least I know it is and can schedule around it.

I've got 10 more bookmarks to go before my JournalCon swag is complete. I'm almost sad about finishing, since that means I'm one step closer to actually going. Which means I'm one step closer to being on a plane back home again. Holy crap, I'm crazy; I should really seek help.

Tonight, I have just decided, will be more about the pampering of me than the rest of the cleaning I wrote about three minutes ago. Deep conditioning of my hair will occur, enzyme cream will grace my face and a proper at-home pedicure should round out the evening nicely. I will watch reruns of Firefly and Angel on Space and drift off on the couch, secure in the knowledge my toes are completely dry with no smudges to greet me in the harsh light of day.

I feel better just typing that....'night, all.

Posted at 5:35 p.m.