2006-03-03

Go me! It's my birthday!

A diplomat is a man who always remembers a woman's birthday
but never remembers her age.

- Robert Frost

You know, I always liked Bob.

============================

So, today is the anniversary of the day I pushed my way into this world. It was the first and possibly last time I was punctual, as I arrived exactly on my Mom�s due date. So, why she was in the middle of packing to move out of my aunt�s house is beyond me; the only thing she should have had packed was that omnipresent wee suitcase waiting by the door like a little solider waiting for action.

While there are many things about myself I could change if at all possible, the one I�ve been thinking about the most lately is my annoying ability to write fabulous journal entries while a) driving and b) drifting off to sleep. Neither of these activities results in me actually getting words down on paper or a monitor; hence the impromptu absence from a wee bit squint during the month of February.

For a while I was blaming it on my infertility medication, but that wears thin after a bit. It�s entirely possible I�ve simply lost the one brain cell responsible for allowing me to retain a train of thought long enough to pull over or leap from bed and fire up the laptop.

There�s not much going on in my life of late, so I�ll just list a few things in much the same manner as I would a grocery list for those of you out there interested in such things.

The contract transfer from the Faculty of Education to Finance has gone surprisingly well now that I�ve gotten in the good books of 99% of the office. There is one ignorant cow who lacks even the most basic social skills and who has carved herself out quite a nice work life on the backs of four work study students. This in itself is abhorrent, but the fact that she constantly whines that she�s always behind in her work gets under my skin just that little bit extra. However, there�s one in every office, isn�t there? I simply filed her under the mental category of DTM and my blood pressure went right down, hey presto!

There is a redesign going on over at the business site and I�m so pleased with the work so far that I could just pee. Right here, right now. That�s how good it�s going to be, I promise you. And once that goes live, I plan on spending a few bucks on innovative marketing strategies. Some of them aren�t entirely legal, but they�re fun to think about while entering my millionth invoice. If anyone has any brilliant low-cost/high impact marketing ideas for a small business, I�m all ears.

I bought bras! (How sad is it that I included an exclamation point at the end of that sentence?)

The Cold that Ate Manhattan is allllllmost completely gone. Can I hear a hallelujah?

I miss karaoke Thursdays and must do something about that.

Okay, that�s it. Gripping, non?

Oh! Sunday�s birthday menu, just for you, anal reader: Steak Oscar, baked potatoes with sour cream and chives, Caesar salad, corn and Portuguese buns. Dessert is a mochaccino cake from a lovely local bakery. Mmmmm, I cannot wait.

Posted at 2:12 p.m.