2006-04-21

B@rbie hair

Over the lunch hour today, I was outside for a grand total of about 12 minutes. While I am not burned per se, I would certainly say I�m lightly toasted. (That�s not to be confused with the light toasting I will submit myself to on the eve of my monthly pay cycle).

Last Sunday I got up, popped the kettle on, snatched up Michaela and headed into the computer room to charge her up in anticipation of a long day of driving. I knew once I set foot in the room that something was horribly awry. Well, less �knew� and more �smelled�; burning plastic is always a dead giveaway. That�s exactly how I wasn�t able to get away with putting my B@rbie�s head down on the still-blistering-hot toaster when I was six.

The Boy, being a Millwright, thought he�d take a crack at the situation seeing how I was breaking out into a cold sweat and had begun hyperventilating at this point. As I gnawed on the cuticles of my left hand, he patiently opened the tower and peered in.

�You�re fucked�, was the best he could come up with.

I�m sure there are those of you out there who are reading along, saying to yourselves, �Yes, she may need another machine, but she�s got all the important documents backed up so it�s not really a disaster of epic proportion.� That would be true if I had backed up my work. I had not. It�s been a hard lesson, but one that I will take away from this at the very least.

So, $1,063.14 later, I own a shiny new computer. Yeeshk. It cleaned out my chequing account, my savings account and I had to get a cash advance on my credit card, so let that indicate to you the width of the fine line on which I dance each month. Disasters are forbidden from now until at least January 2007.

Michaela doesn�t like the new installation of the iPod software; she keeps telling me that half my songs are not where I left them and so are not being copied over to her. I lost the entire contents of my pda, which is the reason I spent most of last night curled up in the fetal position, weeping. The only saving grace is the fact that I accidentally printed out my entire address book a few months ago, so I can reconstruct it by hand. Yeeshk squared.

On the other hand, this job was just approved for a full year yesterday. I still have to apply for it like they don�t know me, but that�s just union crapola. So yay.

This weekend, I have to buckle down and do my taxes. Yes, I realize it�s late, but since I will be getting a refund, I didn�t think it was any sort of issue. My Mom tells me it is. I imagine her nightmares about me being dragged off to debtor�s prison will ease up once I tell her I went to see my accountant.

Have a great weekend.

Posted at 3:04 p.m.