2003-12-21

Three Things

I spent a cold and blustery day yesterday with my niece Kate. We went to the IMAX theatre to see The Living Sea, with a Ladies Who Lunch meal beforehand. We played a rousing game of I Spy before I managed to burn the hell out of the top of my mouth with my panzerotti, something she thought was hilariously funny. Who can figure out six year olds, huh? We also found out that if you care to stay, the second flick at the IMAX is only $2.25 so we stayed to see Wild Chimpanzees, featuring Dr. Jane Goodall. Both movies were excellent, two thumbs up. Kate had looked at me over her spaghetti earlier and, with eyebrow raised, asked if I was taking her to see an �educational� film. I explained that yes, it would be educational but also fun. She remained unconvinced until the lights came back up. She told me she knew it wasn�t going to be The Little Mermaid, but there were enough cool fish and mind-boggling shots of exotic landscapes to appease her. So, after almost $30 in tickets and concession foods, you can chalk another one up for Auntie.

The following has been unabashedly stolen from ElleBee (feel better, babe!), who stole it from Robyn, who stole it from Ami.

Three things I don't understand

1. Calculus

2. Pauly Shore

3. The politics of anything

Three things that scare me

1. Ebola

2. Governmental secrecy

3. My lack of self-esteem

Three things I would like to learn

1. Portuguese

2. Some serious coding skills

3. Wire beading

Three things I am wearing right now

1. Eddie Bauer socks

2. Roots sweatshirt

3. Claddagh ring

Three things on my desk

1. My collection of highlighters

2. Three jasper bracelets

3. My favorite Pier One lamp

Three things I want to do before I die

1. Set things right with three specific people

2. Travel abroad by myself

3. Be truly successful at something

Three good things about my personality

1. I am dogged

2. I am no-nonsense

3. I am slightly warped (which, yes, I see as a good thing)

Three bad things about my personality

1. I am really naive

2. I will do almost anything to get out of cleaning windows or toilets

3. I give too much of myself too early in any new relationship/friendship

Three parts of your heritage

1. Irish

2. Welsh

3. German

Three things I like about my body

1. My eyes

2. My fingernails

3. My feet

Three things I don't like about my body

Everything else, which is much more than three. (I also stole this answer from Elle. Because it�s a good one.)

Three things most people don't know about me

1. I cry in the shower

2. I sing the American national anthem in empty public washrooms. (I have yet to be caught)

3. I am afraid of walking over subway grates

Three things I say the most

1. Yes

2. Indeed

3. Oi!

Three places I want to go

1. Ireland

2. Wales

3. Australia

Posted at 10:58 a.m.