2005-06-17

To sleep, perchance...

I officially have an employment iron in the fire. Well, two actually, so at least one of them is bound to pan out, right? I'd rather not disclose the details until they're a little closer to nailed down but suffice it to say there are people 'out there' who may value my skillsets, my personality and my driving need to get the job done and get the job done right.

So, in order to get the writing cogs moving again I present you with another Friday Five:

1. What do you wear to bed?

Plaid pyjama bottoms (almost exclusively - I prefer Eddie Bauer Sleepwear) and a t-shirt. Long sleeved, short sleeved, v-neck, I don't care.


2. What side of the bed do you sleep on?

I've always had a problem with the phrasing of this question. If you're standing at the end of the bed, preparing to climb in and relinquish yourself to the unconscious side, then I sleep on the left. But once I'm in bed and lying on my back with my arms poised just so, a la my final sleep, I'm on the right.

Alternately, I prefer to sleep closest to the door. Which only matters when we travel, but if I wind up in foreign territory it doesn't mess me up, thank heavens.


3. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal?

Okay, I guess it's time. I saw on Oprah a few years ago some 'expert' saying that more people than you know sleep with stuffed animals and supposedly it's fine. So I will take this opportunity to tell you that yes, I sleep with a C@re Be@r. Luv-a-Lot Be@r was a gift for my 12th birthday (many, many, Many years ago) and I was so pleased. He was so soft and comforting I naturally felt a youthful urge to snuggle with him at night. That urge turned into a need to wedge this little piece of material and stuffing neatly between my cheek and my left shoulder each evening in order to ensure a peaceful night.

To be honest, I've always felt a bit weird about the whole thing. Until last year when my niece figured out that the sad little pink thing by my bedside table was something I slept with like a security blanket. All of the sudden she needed one too and it couldn't be one of the 'new' batch of bears, it had to be old school. Have I corrupted this sweet child? Have I subjected her to a lifetime of defending her actions, of hiding her need to have this little being be a part of her nighttime ritual? I'm a bad auntie.

4. Blanket/bed hog?

My body seems to adapt to the presence of another being when there is one, so I'm not a bed hog. I must, however, subconsciously feel that I've suffered a 300 count sheet deficiency in a past life because I clutch those suckers in a death grip that wins out over even the most muscle-bound partner. The Boy claims he has suffered actual physical burns from having the sheets whipped off him in the night, not unlike a magician and his tablecloth. Liar.

5. Do you make your bed everyday?

I have a huge and fluffy duvet. (So the answer is no).

Have a restful weekend.

Posted at 9:17 p.m.