2004-02-13

Superstitious Minds

Things I Will Buy if I Get to Keep My Job:

1. Playstation 2 (and Silent Hill 3 to go along with it).

2. Angel, Season Three.

3. A pair of luscious high-heeled chocolate brown boots.

4. An RRSP.

5. Advertising for my business.

I should find out the results of the vote before it's time to go home today. The person I'm replacing on a contract basis is running for another term of union President and if she wins, I continue on here at the college. If not, 4:30 is 'it' for me. While I don't love this job, it provides me with some form of security, so keep your fingers crossed please.

Update: She won, so life as I know it continues on. Thanks to everyone who sent notes and good vibes!

And now, on with the Friday Five!

1.Are you superstitious?

Yes. Some of my superstitions have been learned from a young age and some have been picked up as I learn about the superstitions of other people and other cultures.

2. What extremes have you heard of someone going to in the name of superstition?

Throwing out a new pair of shoes because someone else had placed them on a table before they�d been worn.

3. Believer or not, what's your favorite superstition?

I guess my fav would have to be knocking on wood. In the Middle Ages, churchmen insisted that knocking on wood was part of their tradition of prayer, since Christ was crucified on a wooden cross. They were right...but the tradition started several thousands of years earlier, with a different deity. Both Native Americans and ancient Greeks developed the belief (independently) that oak trees were the domain of an important god. By knocking on an oak, they were communicating with him and asking for his forgiveness. The Greeks passed their tradition on to the Romans, and it became part of European lore. The oak's "power" was eventually transferred to all wood.

4. Do you believe in luck? If yes, do you have a lucky number/article of clothing/ritual?

I don't know if I believe in luck, unless you're talking about bad luck. I believe in fate to some degree but I don't think fate and luck are connected.

I believe the number 4 is a good number for me but I can�t tell you when or why I developed that belief.

5. Do you believe in astrology? Why or why not?

I definitely believe in astrology. For years, my best friend and I read all sorts of literature about the stars and how the date, time and place of your birth results in a number of certainties about you. So many of them were correct that I can�t deny there must be something to it.

Have a great weekend!

Friday Five!

Posted at 10:59 a.m.