2003-12-01

Holidailies, start your engines!
Welcome to that part of the year when I attempt to write every single day. Much like NaNoWriMo, it will more than likely result in many words with few ideas linking them. However, I have committed to this lovely idea and shall endeavour to do my best. Enjoy.

The idea for today's entry came to me by way of this wonderful lady. She's quick with the snark, but also educated, thoughtful and a responsible member of this community we call The World Populous.

My story is not a new one. Indeed, I've even told it before on these pages. The only difference in the retelling is that my perception of past events is now skewed by new information. It doesn't make me miss James any less, but the knowledge that there are thousands of people and agencies out there, counseling those around them about successfully living with HIV/AIDS or fighting to inform those who might not see their actions as 'high risk' does manage to provide me with some hope for the future.

Today, 42 million people are estimated to be living with HIV/AIDS. Of these, 38.6 million are adults. 19.2 million are women, and 3.2 million are children under 15. During 2002, AIDS caused the deaths of an estimated 3.1 million people, including 1.2 million women and 610,000 children under 15.

I've tried to rewrite my story today but after four failed attempts, I'll just direct you to the original entry. I'm still, after all this time, so sad and angry when I think about how he left us. I would love it if this day could educate someone, anyone on preventing a wholly preventable disease.

Canadian HIV/AIDS Information Centre

Posted at 4:32 a.m.