2003-08-01

Me and 26 Things
Last night, I put the finishing touches to my first ever (evah!) webpage.
That's huge, people.

What made this event doubly sweet was the fact that I uploaded the result of some difficult creative work for this site. Please take the time to check out the links of at least a few of the talented participants. It's at this time that I must give a huge hug and thank you to Melesse for her incredible wisdom and patience in my instruction. While I always try to get my learnin� from those fancy books, ultimately I pick things up faster by watching someone else first.

Even though it took a rather impromptu drive up to Waterloo on Wednesday for the missing piece of knowledge, I still managed to get all my pics submitted in a timely fashion. And for my efforts, I was rewarded with another lunch of shrimp and pork dumplings, raspberry green apple bubble tea and some Krispy Kremes. Nothing wrong with that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I found out yesterday morning that the Writer job I�d applied for at the television station I�m interning for had been filled. Without contacting me. I didn�t get an interview, nor did the Manager return the two phone messages I left him over the two months it took him to take any action on the resumes. In hindsight, he was so unprofessional I wouldn�t have wanted to work for him anyway. So now I�m kicking into high job search gear, although not much will happen until September if experience has taught me anything.

I also have my business, which is growing slowly but surely. The website will go live, fingers crossed, in a week or so. That�s when I�ll book myself on the morning show I�m interning for. At least there�ll be one benefit of working for free for the past seven months. (Okay two, since I get to put a fairly neat gig on my resume). I�m still not crazy about being the one to go in front of the camera, but I�m willing to endure five minutes of discomfort to get the word out. I�ve been reading up on pet nutrition like mad lately so I�ll be able to answer any trick question the host might pop in to throw me off. They all love to pull stuff like that, it�s a quirk of television people I�ve grown to accept. Plus, you simply cannot know too much about a product you�re selling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, I�m baking more batches of doggie goodness, generally cleaning around the house, phoning around for estimates on silk screening some t-shirts and hopefully working in a Winsor Pilates session. I snap, crackle and pop far too much lately so hopefully some exercise will work out the kinks.

Posted at 8:29 a.m.