2003-06-23

I love the smell of Winamp in the morning
It's shortly after 7 on a clear, sunny Monday morning. The Boy left for work half an hour ago, so it's just Bailey and me. I have a coffee on my left, a chocolate banana breakfast shake on my right and WinAmp in my ears. I'm singing along at the top of my voice and I don't even care that the windows are open. If the wizened old geezers over the back fence who do nothing but carp about the state of our yard don't like it, they can just turn off their hearing aids for a while. Singing is good for the soul. Even people who can't sing should. I also believe that 99% of people can, in fact, carry a tune. Your voice is an instrument, just like the piano or the oboe. And just like the piano or the oboe, you must practice in order to achieve any measure of success with the sounds you can coax out of it. I've been singing since I joined the church choir at the tender age of five. Back then I didn't even know what Alto was, I was just content to know the words and the melody. Later, when it was suggested to me by my music teacher Mrs. Schramm that I make the most of my lower voice, I was introduced to the wonder that is making harmony. Since that fateful day, I've never looked back and probably never sung the melody of a song, either.

Man, this journal should be called
But I Digress.

I recently downloaded a live version of The Water is Wide featuring Sarah McLaughlin, The Dixie Chicks and Jewel. Every time I listen to that song, the harmonies at the end give me goosebumps. That's one of the best feelings in the world. It's right up there with being brought to tears at the end of any of my favorite chick flicks.

Thanks to Oh Brother, Where Art Thou, I've dipped a toe into the Bluegrass pool. Alison Krauss, Rhonda Vincent and The Be Good Tanyas have been challenging my vocal chords these days, and it's a good thing. With these ladies, I really feel like I get a chance to stretch out my vocal chords. That's also when I realize just how strong they are and how much I'm able to project.

Number Three on my Life List is "Take voice lessons". That could mean any type, although lately I've been narrowing that down to fit in with Number Seven: "Narrate a documentary". You need totally different coaching to narrate than you do to belt out some diva tune, and singing anywhere other than karaoke isn't anywhere to be found on my list.

I'm not saying I'm certain that I'll ever have the pleasure of highlighting #7, but it's nice to know I might at least have the potential.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The lovely Sara has convinced me that, after more than two years, I should tweak my template. This one is soothing, don'tcha think? Nice and summery. If you find any broken links, etc. please let me know. If you think something's missing, again, let me know. I'm here to serve.

Posted at 7:12 a.m.