2003-03-13

Motivation manges to fit in there somewhere
This entry brought to you compliments of AlphaBytes.
(Careful: it might be contagious).

I'm sick.
I've picked up some bug or other that seemed innocuous enough at first, but has gone on to kick my ass around the block. It's a shame, since I've been so cocky lately about the Superman-type strength of last fall's flu shot.

"Four months and not a sniffle! Beat that!" I purred to my Dad. He won't get the shot since he believes all the propoganda about it really being some evil concoction of germs. I've had to bite my lip as I listened to his dire warnings, secure in the knowledge that back in the fall I'd armed myself with a platoon of wee soldiers, all working 24/7 for the good of my health. (I can't help but think of the movie Innerspace when I read that last sentence). Heh.

Imagine my surprise when I found myself clearing away that annoying catch in my throat for the umpteenth time last Monday. What the hell? A germ got through? Inconceivable! Then came the inevitable march of symptoms: the stuffiness, nausea, lethargy and the phlegm, oh the phlegm! I've never been able to understand how you can be completely filled with mucus, yet you manage to cough up a lung because your throat is so dry. Anyone? Anyone?

I made it into work on Tuesday and was quite convincing with the healthy image I portrayed; no one had a clue that I was infecting them with every breath. Today was another matter. I surreptitiously snuck Halls and drank mug after mug of scalding tea, trying to reopen a throat that was making every effort to close up entirely. We had a baker on the show this morning and she left behind a huge three-layer cake which we dug into at preceisely 9:05. I got the brilliant idea to blame my dizziness on the massive sugar rush I got from eating a piece the size of Detroit.
Damn, I'm good.

Being a small business owner on the side, I've come to despise 'sick days', and will at least make an effort to work even if I have to take frequent twenty-minute breaks to lie down on the couch and watch another episode of Friends on dvd. (I got the complete Second Season for my birthday! Yay!) I guess the idea that I'm not getting paid by some big company for lounging in my jammies is enough motivation to give it the ol' college try.

Cry for me, won't you?

Posted at 2:47 p.m.