2003-03-01

Aged like a fine whine
This entry brought to you compliments of AlphaBytes.

I wanted to try to cover all the "A" words in one entry, right out of the March gate. Then life intervened, as it will do. So, I've settled on Age, since March 3 is my birthday.

I must be approaching middle age, as I've begun once again to reduce my age down to halves and quarters of years. The last time I did that I was around 11; sorry, 11 and one half, and arguing the relative merits of my not needing a babysitter anymore. These days, I'm holding back, pulling on the reins of time regardless of how much it chomps on the bit to move forward. I'm not enjoying being on the downward slope to 40, most likely because I did a personal inventory about a month before I was to turn 35 and the result was far from stellar.

I've already made a few attempts to seek council from those I trust about how to continue from here. I hope my horoscope was right when it said 2003 was going to be My Year. Bloody well better be, that's all I'm sayin'.

The Silver Lining: Two of the women who work at the television station guessed me to be 27 at the most a few weeks ago. Hell, yeah! So, all the anger (see how I fit that one in there?) and angst I've been feeling for the past eight months obviously aren't finding their way out my pores and using their vitriol to fashion wrinkles. Maybe I should be more concerned that they're holed up inside my cranium, wreaking mental havoc? Nah, I've already got enough to worry about, thanks.

Posted at 10:34 a.m.