2003-02-10

Do or Die
I've done it.

Well, in a roundabout way.

Okay, so I've always had a tendency toward being cryptic. Let me translate: yesterday, I let 15 packages of my product loose into the hands of my sisters. There are people at both their workplaces who've been waiting patiently to see the dog and cat treats when I had decided on my packaging. So while I won't actually be the one out there selling, I may have logged some sales by the end of the day. Gah.

I feel like I'm at the apex of the anxiety curve with regard to the life of this small business. Ten months of germinating the seed of the idea, endless R&D, surfing sites to look for the kind of window bag I decided on after seeing it in a dream, it all just seemed kind of pie-in-the-sky at the time. I've been able to make it this far without a loan or a 'contribution' from well-meaning family members or friends. This means I've also enjoyed the pleasure of not having to create a formal business plan or become involved in the financial minutiae required when you're obligated to report to a shareholder.

So, ten months later I'm unemployed, I've started an internship at the local television station (Only eight hours a week. I've already begun to hatch a clever plan to increase that number, and maybe work on the payment aspect of things. The sooner they realize I'm indispensable, the better) and I'm spending the rest of my time involuntarily scrutinizing my life. Truth be told, I'm coming up short. I have to assume my subconscious is looking farther up the road than I can manage at the moment, what with the kid issue rushing toward one conclusion or other. I have no money, and I'm contemplating a separation. Just what particular brand of stupid am I? Anyone? Anyone?

So. Back to something positive. I've got my buddy Bill working on the business website and hope to have it up and running in the near future. My house is filled with the smell of the BBQ Bites I made this morning and Bailey is loitering around the stove in the hopes she can snatch one when I'm not looking. She's just so obvious sometimes...

Maybe once I've sold one or two or two hundred bags, I'll feel a little more secure in my decision to move forward with this business. I've also never lost sight that it may well crash and burn, leaving me with no option other than to search for meaningless work in another soul-sucking cubicle maze with a bazillion firewalls that will put a major crimp in my daily surfing activities. As long as I don't have a loan repayment to worry about,
I'm confident I could take it.

Oh man, to add insult to injury, I just found out that Marathon bars have been discontinued.
Bloody hell, will man's inhumanity to man ever end?

Posted at 12:58 p.m.