2003-01-10

January frickin' 10th?
Happy New Year. I realize it's scandalously far into January to still be spoutng that, but there you go. I'd feel like something was missing if I didn't at least wish happy things to those wonderful readers still checking up on me.

Okay, old business:

Last year mostly sucked but I didn't realize it until my contract came up at the college and I was forced to endure my own company for weeks on end. I had lots of time to face the reasons why I am so damned unhappy. It's not anyone's fault but my own, but making a change for the better is probably going to mean hurting someone I still care for very much. I also have been fiddling around with a concept for a new business that I've been doing R&D on for 10 months. I managed to accumulate inventory and packaging while I was still working so I can manage for the first few months without needing any new money. Yay me. I've registered it, but have not as yet sold one thing. The day is coming, though. I'm scared to death, I don't mind telling you. I also decided that if I had any intention of ending up with a day job that I loved, I was going to have to figure out a way to do it that was both clever and a little sneaky. Yes, the internship. You have been paying attention! So I'm just sitting at home, beading and baking inventory for the business, waiting patiently for Morgan's call about my start date. Offering my services for free was kind of difficult, but I must remain confident that it will ultimately lead to employment riches. It will, yes indeedy.

New business:

No resolutions. I've cut down on the smoking, increased writing in my paper journal (just random thoughts, nothing with any logical progression, a few scribbled pictures) and I've absconded with my sister's Winsor Pilates tapes. Ms. Mari says that by the time I've done my 30th workout, I'll be amazed! We'll see.....

But these aren't resolutions. There are simply things I've begun to do with the boatloads of free time I have at the moment. Like 80 per cent of the population that dabbles in this quaint tradition, I rarely keep up with things I 'resolve' to do, so I'm not labelling my actions. Hey, no expectations, no way I can fail. Low-stress. Lovely.

Okay, as you were. I'll just be over here resolving not to make any resolutions. Don't mind me.

Posted at 11:13 a.m.