2002-12-19

An hour's drive from Krispy Kreme is a good thing
Tuesday was good. Once again, I was up in Waterloo visiting Melesse, fully meaning to spend the day working on my other To Do List, the one having to do with my new business venture. But no, we were once again drawn like a moth to flame to the Evil Bead Store. Another $68 later, I've got two containers of shiny beads to gaze upon like the magpie I am. I'm making necklaces for my nieces at the rate of one per day, so I'm on a good schedule. I also broke down and bought enough Fancy Jasper to make myself a stretchy bracelet. It's bee-oo-ti-ful.

Mel finally spent more at that den of iniquity than I did. She went seed bead crazy! I am developing a taste for Delicas (Japanese laser cut beads), and I bought my first spool of tiger tail, since knotting thread makes me weep like a little baby. Crimping is more my style, especially since I can now make some floating necklaces. Cat's eyes are hypnotizing, did you know? I do now.

We got in some holiday shopping for Mel, and I picked up two dozen Krispy Kreme donuts for my sister in law. That family keeps an inventory of the frozen goodies to make sure no one has a late-night sugar fest. I never really knew what the big deal was until Tuesday. I was standing in line, watching the KK process through the plexiglass when I was offered a sample. Not even a cheesy sample like you would get at the supermarket or Costco: an entire donut! I realize this is nothing new to those who have already been introduced to the loveliness of KK, but I was stunned. The lady actually giggled at the look of shock on my face. I downed that sucker in three bites, then stepped up and bought two more. One original, one custard filled with chocolate icing. They are so good, I would live my life in fear if there was a store near me. I also found out from a nice lady in the chair next to me at my hair appointment yesterday that ONE donut has 58 grams of fat. To someone who has started to do the Winsor Pilates tapes, that alone is enough of a deterrent.

Hey, imagine that; I've started an exercise routine before January 1! How damned proactive of me!

Posted at 10:38 a.m.