2002-12-16

Pay attention to the camera, girl!
The Boy's family, speaking of superstitions, clings to the belief that if you're hoping for something good to come true, don't speak of it. You will immediately call upon yourself a pox of monumental proportion. I have never subscribed to that fear. Well, that and I rarely manage to keep my big trap shut. Thank heavens it doesn't seem to be affecting me in this particular case.

I woke this morning at 5:15, scarfed down some toast while watching an old episode of Chicago Hope, struggled into a freezing cold Jeep in the dark of night and drove down to the market. It's from this landmark that the local morning show is shot, and I'm angling for an internship with them in the New Year. While my education doesn't include Broadcast Journalism, I'm hoping my three years of Print Journalism will stand me in good stead as I begin the process of slowly insinuating myself into their lives. Finding work in the print media, especially in this town, is almost impossible, so I've had to try to come up with new and interesting ideas for my next work gig. Dealing with this crowd seemed to be the way to go and thanks to my friend Roger (yay Roger!), I can now tell you all that it's not what you know, but who you know. I used to say that with no small amount of bittnerness in my voice, but if it finally works out for me personally then hey, I'm all for it. Anyway, it's other people who get you in the door, while it's you, your personality, work ethic and abilities that keep you there. Duh, you'd think I'd have figured that out some time ago.

I sat down with the show's producer, went over the schedule, met the talent and helped schlep stuff here and there. Once, I managed to get in the shot by mistake, but it's all good because Mom taped the show and will be able to enjoy seeing her #1 daughter being a doofus and getting in the shot. I also spent the majority of the three hours I was there staying out of the road of the personalities and wishing I had the nerve to strike up a conversation with them. I mean, they're only locals, it's not like they're Dan Rather for the love of Pete! I guess I'm just an all-around groupie.

Christmas plans continue to move forward. The baking is done, the presents are bought and the cards have been written. Well, all except for the last minute ones that people send out of the blue, knowing full well that I don't have enough time to whip one in the mail to get to them before the 25th. Grrrr.

Posted at 10:21 a.m.