2002-12-15

New traditions
Ten days and counting. Well, for those of you who are counting.

It's Sunday, it's early and quiet and I just got up from a lovely twelve hour sleep. I spent yesterday with my niece Kate, and while it's always worth it to put aside my errands to look after her, in the cold light of morning, I am now woefully behind on most everything. So I'm sipping my coffee and listening to the Vince Guaraldi Trio on the headphones while I try to come up with this entry and some playlists on Nero that won't end up sounding forced. I have to make chocolate cheesecake in the next four hours, shower and dress, visit The Boy's uncle who is in from Quebec and drive 40 minutes out to my Mom and Dad's for the second family holiday get together of the year. Once I get out there, I will officially be able to sit back and relax for the rest of the day.

I always enjoy this visit with Mom's side. We have developed the tradition of using the first two Sundays of December to visit quietly with both sides of my family. A glass of wine, some nibbles and the kind of relaxed atmosphere you just can't find around the 25th. Man, I'm getting old.

One of the main reasons I'm looking forward to this afternoon is most certainly not the humungous zit on my cheek. (I spent most of yesterday assaulting it with alcohol, teabags and a hot needle. Don't bother with the emails, I'm well aware that self-surgery is potentially scarring and will only serve to cause me more heartache down the road. But thanks for your concern). It is because this is the first year of The Yankee Swap! Everyone was bitching and moaning last year about my making them create inventive handmade Christmas crackers, so I suggested it might be easier if we went this way. They raised eyebrows, but once I explained they would only have to haul their lazy asses to the mall to get one gift per person, they heartily jumped on board. I realize it's only 15 people, all family members, but I must admit I'm a little nervous. A good time will be had by all, I'm sure.

Posted at 7:07 a.m.